What do you do when you cross the finish line?

How do you celebrate the completion of your work in progress and related projects such as synopsis, etc…? Do you take some time to recharge your batteries or do you dive into your next project?

I’ve found that taking some time away helps me recharge and approach my writing with a clear head. I have overloaded and my writing suffered for it so I now know I have to step away for a bit between my works if I plan on being successful as a writer.  

So, are you a diver or a charger?

Liena~

4 Responses to “What do you do when you cross the finish line?”

  1. If I’m in a real zone, I charge in and write something else but mostly I need to stop and refelct. I actually feel a little sad at completion that the characters are leaving me.

    Great blog post!

  2. Hi Liena!

    Well, yesterday I just finished my WIP’s first draft. My intention is to take a couple of days at least to recharge. Unfortunately, I’m still catching up on emails and blogs!! *laughs*

    But I do think recharging is vital to the process. Next step, reread the whole book and make notes. THEN I can start the revisions.

    Great post!

    Smiles,
    Chiron O’Keefe
    The Write Soul: http://www.chironokeefe.blogspot.com

  3. Hey Liena

    I usually recharge, before diving back into the same project.I don’t let go of a project before it is done in completion or I find I lose my voice and characterization for that particular story.

    My favourite recharge thing is to to ‘gift’ myself some me-time. Usually watching a good movie or reading a good book while lounging around the house in my PJs! Lol

    I do this after every main project, be it writing or assignments and exams. It helps to bring me ‘down’ form the high of completion or the stress of studying.

    Hugs!

  4. I recharge, Liena. You have to, or you would become a basket case. I take a few days, but one time I took a month. During that month I mulled over a few ideas for one book. Smile.

Leave a Reply

