What happens when new ideas for a story hit you while your working on another?

You’re writing away at your current story when you turn to the TV and see spires of clay colored rock formations growing out of the earth and decide on who is going to be the heroine in your next book?  True story. I was watching the Discovery Channel and decided on an earth dragon. Okay, so maybe you weren’t watching TV, but what do you do when you’re in the middle of a wip and inspiration strikes?

Do you store it away in the deep recesses of your mind? Do you write your idea down quickly in a notebook or type a quick summary and store it on your computer?

Inspiration can strike at any moment. Sometimes it is during your downtime or while you are working on another story. My inspiration just happened to be a documentary on the earth’s mythical powers.

Liena~

6 Responses to “What happens when new ideas for a story hit you while your working on another?”

  1. I’d love to know what others do too, Liena *grins* just so I don’t think I’m nuts. LOL

    If I’m in bed, I jot idea w/notes on a tablet I keep on nightstand beside me. If I’m on my computer, I will open another document, type a few quick sentences and save on desktop. When I’m out, I record a ‘note’ on my phone or send myself an email. It’s crazy!

  2. lienaferror Says:

    You aren’t crazy. All my ideas go into a notebook with post-it notes sticking out the top of it. So no, you aren’t crazy at all, J. Either that or you and I are in the same boat ;-).

    Liena~

  3. Hi Liena!

    If I’m watching TV, chances are I’ll grab a notebook and jot my idea down. Otherwise I pull up a blank doc, tap in my thoughts and then create a new folder with a working title. All get stored in my massive Writing folder.

    I must say, an earth dragon sounds very cool!!

    –Chiron O’Keefe
    The Write Soul: http://www.chironokeefe.blogspot.com

  4. Hey Liena

    Lol, I’m in that boat with ya lot! Whenever an idea strikes, I usually rush to my desk where there’s always an open notebook/notepad and scribble the idea down. That’s about the only time I actually ‘write’, as in with a pen/pencil! If I’m out, I often just write a text message on the phone that I then send to myself or in a reminder that’s to pop off when I’m sure I’ll be at my desk. Or if anything fails, write it down on the notebook in the handbag, or the first piece of paper I come across. I actually have the idea for my upcoming release Light My World scribbled on the back of an ATM bank statement!

    Cool that the idea for yours came while watching TV!

    Hugs!!

  5. I always have several projects that I juggle around. If I’m seriously deep in one, I jot down notes. If I’m at a stopping place, I start the new one, run with it awhile and go back to the first project. It might not work for everyone, but it’s the only way I can work.

  6. I guess it depends on what I’m doing. I usually have a notebook with me everywhere I go and I write the ideas down as they come. Sometimes though the ideas I get I start thinking about them and form a plot and scenes in my head so I have to write them down as well.

    I usually get most of my ideas when I go to bed. It’s like those voices in my head tell me…nope, no sleep for you tonight, we have wrok for you to do, LOL:-)

Leave a Reply

