Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?

How did you come to write in your current genre(s)?

Was it the love of history class in high school? Was it a showing of An American Werewolf in London or an old western on TV?

For myself, it was the later. After seeing An American Werewolf in London, I became fascinated by all things that go bump in the night. I am also an action/adventure/suspense movie fan and read books in the that genre as well. Matthew McConaughey in Clive Cussler’s Sahara comes to mind. I can imagine myself writing in that genre as well someday.

So what inspired you to write in the genre(s) you write in?

Liena~

6 Responses to “Did you choose your genre or did it choose you?”

  1. sandrasookoo Says:

    When I started writing as a kid, I was hardcore fantasy. Then as a young adult I gravitated to the romance genre. What really sold it for me was the tension between the leading characters and the lure of the HEA. Why? Because life’s not perfect and we all can’t ride off into the sunset–but that doesn’t mean we can’t want to 🙂

    Will I always stick to romance and all of it’s sub genres? Probably, but sometime in the future, I’d love to write YA novels 🙂

  2. Okay, I’m going to date myself… for real – Dr. Shock. Loved it. He did the corniest, greatest horror shows. Two movies in particular I loved that drew me into the genre. You’ll have to look them up – What and Dementia 13, both romances by my way of thinking – the BEST! I fell in love with horror and vamps then.

  3. I fell into the genre of romantic suspense because that’s what I read and that’s what I watch on television. I love Bones because it’s a humorous romantic suspense, and each character is well drawn.

  4. I always knew I’d write romance but I fell into cultural romantic fiction after reading the book A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. At almost every page in the story and plight of the heroine Lata, I was like, Oh gosh, I know just what she feels! At around the same time, a local theatre comedy group was having tremendous success on the island and had just started their own sitcom about a local Mauritian family and their day-to-day toils and troubles. Coupled with the success of Mauritian soap operas at the same time, and I was like, we see all this on TV but not in books. That’s how I decided to write as Aasiyah Qamar about the modern Mauritian girl and her quest for romance.

    From there I penned two novels in that genre, and wanted to also spread my wings and write about mainstream romance, the kind we see in movies and popular romance books. I knew the cultural slant would not cut it on every story, so that’s how I also branched into Nolwynn Ardennes’s romances.

    Great topic, Liena!

    Hugs

    Z(Aasiyah/Nolwynn)

  5. lienaferror Says:

    Hi Liena!

    Hmm… My first novel sprang from my love of Screwball Comedies like The Philadelphia Story (starring Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn). *grin*

    As I grew as a writer, my genre evolved into my current focus–psychic suspense. I wanted to blend my love of psychology with my experience in the metaphysical field.

    By the way, I loved American Werewolf!

    Smiles,
    Chiron O’Keefe
    The Write Soul: http://www.chironokeefe.blogspot.com

  6. annienicholas Says:

    I am a sci-fi junkie. My parents raised me watching Star Trek, Battlestar Galatica, and Star Wars. Authors like Larry Niven and CJ Cherryh have a huge impact on my writting. I’m not sure when I crossed the line to romance but after completing my first nanowirmo novel and reread it I realized this was where I belonged.

    Jim Butcher and Glen Cook are the authors who influence my vampire stories. Plenty of action, many twists in the story, and suspense galor.

Leave a Reply

